This unusually named church was demolished in 1841 under the Union of Benefices Act. It was dedicated to St Benedict – of which “Benet” is a shortened form. In the 13th Century the Finch family was a benefactor of the church – and “Fink” is a corruption of that surname. That family is also memorialised in the nearby Finch Lane.
The church was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and rebuild by Sir Christopher Wren. Since the space for the church was limited, Wren had to adopt an unusual design – a 10 sided decagon with an oval dome on top. A blue plaque near the Royal Exchange marks the site of this lost church. The watercolour below shows the church shortly before its demolition.
Go to the “Walks” page to discover a google map and accompanying walk to discover the other lost churches of St Benet in the City